Skip to main content
For the latest information on opening times, please click here

Diocese of Worcester

Diocese of Worcester

The Diocese of Worcester

The Cathedral Church of Christ & the Blessed Mary the Virgin, of Worcester is the mother church of the Diocese of Worcester and the seat of the Bishop of Worcester. 

The Diocese of Worcester is one of 41 (42 including the Diocese in Europe) that make up the Church of England. The Diocese of Worcester also forms part of the Province of Canterbury.

The diocese covers an area of 670 square miles and includes the County of Worcestershire, the Metropolitan Borough of Dudley, and a few parishes in northern Gloucestershire, south east Wolverhampton and Sandwell.

The diocese was founded in around 679 by St Theodore of Canterbury for the tribe of the Hwicce. Today the diocese covers a population of 890,000 and includes 93 benefices, 169 parishes and 276 churches.

The diocese is led by the Bishop of Worcester, supported by the suffragan Bishop of Dudley. Likewise, the diocese is divided into two archdeaconries - Worcester and Dudley, who each have their own Archdeacon.

For information about clergy and churches in the diocese and diocesan events, please contact the Diocesan Office

16 Lowesmoor Wharf
01905 20537